Main Page
About Us
What We Offer
Our Programs
Our Partners
Annual Reports
News Letters
Contact Us
To top of page


Mrs Andjelani Kakozi Chantal

Mrs Andjelani Kakozi Chantal
Sofibef Director


SOFIBEF was founded on Nov.22nd, 1994 by a group of peasant women of Fizi, south Kivu province in the Democratic Republic of Congo. It is mainly concerned with the promotion and protection of women's human rights and mental health of survivors, the rights of children, conflict resolution and the struggle against poverty in order to promote their rights to life.


It is a local little private, non-partisan, impartial, independent and apolitical, non-profit making feminist women's organisation, registered as charity on No. 5072/966/b6/PEK/96 under Congolese Law, recognised by Congolese authorities as a tax-exempted organisation of women's development. It mostly operates at grassroots level and is in close contact with the women community in which it operates. It does not recommend or work for election of a specific candidate for political office.


Membership is open to every woman or women organisation who shows attachment to the ideals of the organisation.


  • To defend and protect women's human rights
  • To struggle on the side of poor peasant women facing an uncertain future (frame and service old women, widows and handicapped women victims of mental health problems)
  • To involve women in all mechanisms for the prevention and resolution of conflict
  • To raise public awareness on the plight of children and women
  • To facilitate women's access to information-education about their rights and finally
  • To contribute to the discussion of development strategies.


A small paid staff and active board members run SOFIBEF. The structure represents the following hierarchy:

  1. The General Assembly (GA): highest organ of important decisions. It is responsible for determining the general policy of the organisation.
  2. The Board of Directors (BD): the governing body of the organisation. It acts on any matter referred to it by the General Assembly and considers for approval recommendations made by the G.A.
  3. The Executive Bureau (E.B): part of the organisation, which deals with the daily management of the organisation's activities. It is composed of a small staff of experienced women with a thorough experience in rural women's problems and spread over five departments/services:
    1. Legal Assistance and Emergency Aid (LAEA)
    2. Mental Health Advocacy (for victims of torture and political prisoners and their families) / (MHA)
    3. Peace, Women's Human Rights Education, Information and Training (PWHREIT)
    4. Women's Development and Care of Environment (WDCE)
    5. Administration and Finance (AF)

Fig.1. Structure

Fig. 1. Structure